Loading...

Our Purpose

Home / Our Story / Who We Are

Sustainable and Equitable World

We are a standard and certification body that works to ensure every dollar of climate and development funding goes as far as it can. To do this, we design the strongest processes that maxmise the impact of efforts to deliver clean energy and water, responsibly manage land and forests, and transform the lives of the world’s poor. We then verify those outcomes, inspiring greater confidence that drives investment to accomplish even more.

Our Roots

Established in 2003 by WWF and other international NGOs as a best practice benchmark for energy projects developed under the UN’s Clean Development Mechanism (CDM), Gold Standard was set up to ensure that projects delivered genuine emission reductions and long-term sustainable development.

Now endorsed by 80+ NGOs and with more than 1,100+ projects in 70 countries undergoing certification. The Gold Standard has become the global benchmark for the highest integrity and greatest impact in climate and development initiatives.

Our Focus

We are working towards launching Gold Standard for the Global Goals – an approach that integrates all of our project scopes, including Energy and Waste, Land Use and Forests, and Water into a unified, holistic standard to maximise the benefits of each respective scope. With a single, streamlined certification process that reduces costs and complexity, Gold Standard for the Global Goals will assess the impact of project activities toward the Sustainable Development Goals. 

Our Goals

Home / Our Story / Who We Are
  • Reduce greenhouse gas emmissions
  • Improve health and livelihoods of the world's poor.
  • End deforestation
  • Contribute to food and water security
  • Conserve water and other natural resources
  • Help communities develop sustainably

Our Team

Home / Our Story / Who We Are

“This work is possible only through the fierce commitment of a team working together from all corners of the globe.” – MARION VERLES, CEO

Gold Standard Team

Addressing climate change and sustainable development requires technical leadership, diversity and a global mindset. Our Gold Standard Foundation secretariat is composed of experts stationed all around the world. Please feel free to contact our team with any questions or concerns.

  • Alt
    Marion Verles
    Chief Executive Officer
    Zurich, Switzerland
    marion.verles@goldstandard.org
  • Alt
    Lisa Rosen
    Chief Operations Officer
    Cambridge, USA
    lisa.rosen@goldstandard.org
  • Alt
    Owen Hewlett
    Chief Technical Officer
    Clevedon, UK
    owen.hewlett@goldstandard.org
  • Alt
    Sarah Leugers
    Director, Communications
    Geneva, Switzerland
    sarah.leugers@goldstandard.org
  • Alt
    Abhishek Goyal
    Senior Technical Director, Standards
    New Delhi, India
    abhishek.goyal@goldstandard.org
  • Alt
    Annyta (Qun) Luo
    Senior Certification Officer, China
    Beijing, China
    annyta.luo@goldstandard.org
  • Alt
    Anurag Juyal
    Certification Officer, India
    New Delhi, India
    anurag.juyal@goldstandard.org
  • Alt
    Arshi Vimal
    Certification Officer
    New Delhi, India
    arshi.vimal@goldstandard.org
  • Alt
    Ayushi Jain
    Certification Officer, India
    New Delhi, India
    ayushi.jain@goldstandard.org
  • Bettina Malhotra
    Finance Officer
    Geneva, Switzerland
    bettina.malhotra@goldstandard.org
  • Brendan Smith
    Technical Director, Land Use
    Geneva, Switzerland
    brendan.smith@goldstandard.org
  • Alt
    Claire Willers
    Manager, Marketing and Communications
    Geneva, Switzerland
    claire.willers@goldstandard.org
  • Alt
    Deepak Kumar
    IT Manager
    New Delhi, India
    deepak.kumar@goldstandard.org
  • Alt
    Deepika Proothi
    Information Services Assistant
    New Delhi, India
    deepika.proothi@goldstandard.org
  • Alt
    Ellen May Reynes
    Business Development Officer
    Cebu, Philippines
    ellen.reynes@goldstandard.org
  • Alt
    Gabriel Kuettel
    Assistant, Marketing and Communications
    Geneva, Switzerland
    gabriel.kuettel@goldstandard.org
  • Alt
    Ivan Hernandez Villegas
    Senior Certification Officer, Americas
    Monterrey, Mexico
    ivan.hernandez@goldstandard.org
  • Alt
    Keith Black
    Technical Director, Information Services & Registry
    Dundee, UK
    keith.black@goldstandard.org
  • Mathilde Mansoz
    Programme Manager
    Geneva, Switzerland
    Mathilde.Mansoz@goldstandard.org
  • Alt
    Miranda Bevc
    Finance Manager
    Geneva, Switzerland
    miranda.bevc@goldstandard.org
  • Alt
    Neha Rao
    Technical Director, Certification
    Hyderabad, India
    neha.rao@goldstandard.org
  • Alt
    Pinar Ozturk
    Senior Certification Officer, Turkey
    Istanbul, Turkey
    pinar.ozturk@goldstandard.org
  • Alt
    Shirley (Yuhuan) Shen
    Senior Certification Officer, China
    Beijing, China
    shirley.shen@goldstandard.org
  • Sophia Maxwell
    Communications Manager
    Geneva, Switzerland
    sophia.maxwell@goldstandard.org
  • Alt
    Subuddhi Banthia
    Senior Programme Officer, Energy and Waste
    New Delhi, India
    subuddhi.banthia@goldstandard.org
  • Alt
    Dr. Vikash Talyan
    Technical Director, Standards and New Programmes
    New Delhi, India
    vikash.talyan@goldstandard.org
Governance Board

Our board supports our mission by providing financial oversight and strategic governance.

  • Alt
    Thomas Vellacott
    CEO of WWF Switzerland
  • Alt
    David Shelmerdine
    President of The Gold Standard Foundation
  • Ana Toni
    Executive Director at Instituto Clima e Sociedade
    Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
  • Meinrad Bürer
    Director, Research & Development, EcoAct
  • Alt
    Robin Millington
    Director, Global Alliances at EAT Foundation
  • Alt
    Timothy King
    Head of Research, Australian Equities Core
Senior Advisors
  • Daniel Wiener
    Founder and President, ecos and Global Infrastructure Basel
    Basel, Switzerland
  • Silke Karcher
    European Climate and Energy Policy and New Market Mechanisms, BMUB
    Germany
Gold Standard Governance Structure
Alt
Technical Advisory Committee

Our TAC is responsible for ensuring the rigor and integrity in all our work, proven existing programs and innovative new initiatives. The TAC is an independent body composed of market specialists that provide expertise, guidance and decisions on methodology approval, rule changes and appeals.

  • Alt
    Matt Spannagle
    Energy Sub-Committee
    DelAgua Health, Rwanda
  • Alt
    Anu Chaudhary
    Energy Sub-Committee
    SustainPLUS, India
  • Alt
    Dr. Meinrad Bürer
    Energy Sub-Committee Chair
    IFRC, Switzerland
  • Alt
    Miguel Cortes
    Energy Sub-Committee
    ERM, Columbia
  • Alt
    Steve Thorne
    Energy Sub-Committee
    SouthSouthNorth, South Africa
  • Tom Owino
    Energy Sub-Committee
    ClimateCare, Kenya
  • Alt
    Dr. Jacqueline Gehrig-Fasel
    Land Use & Forests Sub-Committee Chair
    TREES Forest Carbon Consulting, Switzerland
  • Alt
    Dr. Neil Bird
    LUF Sub-Committee
    Wood Rising Consulting, Austria
  • Rob Fowler
    TAC Chair, Land Use & Forests Sub-Committee Vice Chair
    Essential Change Advisory Services, Australia
  • Alt
    Shigueo Watanabe
    Energy and Land Use & Forests Sub-Committees
    CO2 Consulting, Brazil
  • Alt
    Sudha Padmanabha
    Energy and Land Use & Forests Sub-Committees
    Fair Climate Network, India
  • Alt
    Dr. Tony Knowles
    Land Use & Forests Sub-Committee
    The Cirrus Group, South Africa
  • Alt
    Adam Harvey
    Water Sub-Committee
    Whave, Uganda
  • Anna Forslund
    Water Sub-Committee
    Anna Forslund, Stockholm International Water Institute (SIWI), Sweden
  • Dr. Biksham Gujja
    Water Sub-Committee
    AgSri, India
  • Dean Thomson
    Water Sub-Committee
    World Vision, Australia
  • James Dalton
    Water Sub-Committee
    International Union For Conservation Of Nature (IUCN), Switzerland
  • Alt
    Jamie Pittock
    Water Sub-Committee
    Australian National University, Australia
  • Alt
    Scott Harder
    Water Sub-Committee Chair
    Environmental Finance Group, USA
  • Gabriela Merla
    Legal Sub-Committee
    LAGUNA, Mexico and Smith D’Oria, France
  • Cameron Prell
    Legal Sub-Committee
    Crowell&Moring LLP, USA
  • Phillip Riddell
    Land Use & Forests Sub-Committee
    Independent
  • Lawson Henderson
    Land Use & Forests Sub-Committee
    Rainforest Alliance
  • Alt
    Johann Thaler
    Oversight & Assurance Panel
    Germany
  • Liza Murphy
    Oversight & Assurance Panel
    Germany

NGO Supporters

Home / Our Story / Who We Are

Gold Standard was founded by a group of NGOs and continues to represent the interests of civil society in all our work. Our NGO Supporters can take an active role in the project development process, providing constructive feedback and offering their expertise. This lends further credibility to our local sustainable development initiatives. Every NGO that supports Gold Standard helps strengthen the collective statement that carbon markets should foster transparency, environmental rigor and sustainable development.

See our NGO Supporters >>